Newsflash: Never signed buyer agreement with agent, closing next week, wants $500 broker fee

So I put an offer on a house was accepted last month. We close on the 30th. Everything is currently on track for closing. This morning my agent sends me a document to sign that’s the buyer agency contact saying she has permission to represent me in this sale. She said she was supposed to have me sign this at the time I put in the offer but she forgot to send it to me. I’m a week from closing and it says I owe her broker $500 for their participation in this transaction. In that clause of the contract it says that the real estate association has no recommended brokers fee and that this $500 amount was negotiated between me and my agent. She has never mentioned this fee before. I am under the assumption the broker is already getting a percentage of the sale. Can I refuse to sign this? Or refuse to sign this until it’s amended to say I won’t pay the $500?

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1cbnoqk/never_signed_buyer_agreement_with_agent_closing/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment