Newsflash: Caution against using Wells Fargo for RE purchases.

Disclaimer, I have used Wells Fargo to close on three prior houses without issue, and have been a WF customer for over 15 years.I was purchasing a condo and was set to close. On the day of closing I went into the branch to send a wire at about 10am. The wire said it would require a banker and they were pretty busy but the teller told me I could send it online and even better the fee would be cut in half. Happy to oblige and eager to close on the deal, I used the mobile app to send the wire.I went thru all the additional verification steps, 2fa code to phone and email ect. THe wire all in all was about 15k dollars, and was to steward title, a standard title company in my state. I submit the wire and forward the confirmation email to the escrow agent. Two hours goes by and they have not recieved the funds. I check my email for additional communcations maybe I have missed from WF. Nothing. I call wells fargo customer serviice, 30 minute wait to get to the wire department. They then say that its been flagged for fraud by online fraud detection, and they need to transfer me. I get told there is a minimum hour wait, no queue time, no callback option, nothing.I stay on the line cause I know the batch for wire cutoff is 2pm. I finally get a hold of someone, and they immediately disconnect. By god im furious. I drive to my local branch, and demand to speak to a banker. The manager of the bank asks if she can help so I tell her whats going on, that I am extremely frustrated and was just following a different branches instructiuons. She then tells me she cant do anything about the online wire, because its part of a different department, so she calls the wire department directly from the bank, and I get a hold of someone. I am then told the wire was flagged for some additional verification (no mention of this has been given to me direcrtly via email, app, text nothing). I then ask them to remove that hold and they say they do.By now its 3pm and I ask them if there is a way they can expedite the wire since they were the ones that caused the delay. They say no theres nothing they can do (which i still do not believe, I just think the expedite will cost them money). This is friday so the wire cant go out until next business day monday. I tell the escrow agent and they draft an addedum for closign extension. Luckily the seller was sympathetic as I was in constant communication and was on the phone for hours trying to get a hold of someone.Monday rolls around and the wire has STILL not sent. I go back to the branch at 10am, and have them cancel the online wire and redo it fromn the branch, They dont waive the fee, no indication of WHY the online wire hasnt sent. They send it and it immediately arrives and I close. But my fucking god DO NOT USE WELLS FARGO, they are so bad and I finally get why some agents have cautioned me against using them in the past. I submitted a formal complaint and they got back to me saying I didnt have a phone number on file which is utter Bullshit, as I recieve SMS notifications from them about online check depostits, zelle, ect all the time. I cancelled two accounts that see 6 digit direct deposits in them yearly, and moved those over to a different checking elsewhere. A drop in the bucket for them im sure theyll not even care but it felt like the only option I personally had.

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1cc4npx/caution_against_using_wells_fargo_for_re_purchases/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment