Newsflash: Escrow venting

If I accepted a cash offer of $92000 on my home that allowed the buyer to put $50000 down then I became the lender on the rest, 12 monthly payments and the final a balloon payment, why would I not be able to make a request to have 2 checks sent for my disbursement amount. I jumped hoops and bent over backwards to accommodate all of buyers offers, appointments, inspections and everything else throughout this sale. I do not have a regular brick and mortar bank account. Prepaid online bank account has worked fine for me all of these years. But I can only do up to $2500 mobile check load. That would have been enough for me to be able to rent UHaul and pay a couple of movers and pay the rest of down payment to move into my new place. I could have waited until Monday to open new account with the remainder check. But since I received it in one large check and on a Friday, I was unable to do any of those things because although banks were willing to open an account, none were willing to allow me to withdraw any of the funds until the check was verified on Monday. Now the Buyer is threatening to get an attorney because I am unable to release the house. My real estate agent never even told me what time I had to hand over the keys, she had only said I had to be gone by Saturday night. Then she tells me at 2:00 today that the buyer was coming at 6:00. I could have been done and gone if escrow had granted my one request of just 2 separate checks. I’m not trying to keep the buyer from the house, but I honestly had no extra income to complete the things I needed to do for the move. I had explained all of this before the disbursement check was even been made out. I don’t think it was wrong to make that simple request. Any thoughts would be appreciated. I am also carrying the remainder of the loan for the buyer.

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1ckmclw/escrow_venting/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment