Newsflash: Does an appraisal field reviewer have to visit the house?

I’m buying a house, and I got an appraisal that said the house was worth slightly more than I was paying for it (yay!). This triggered a field review, and a 2nd appraiser dropped the appraisal value to $60k under my purchase price.The 2nd appraiser claims he went to the house to perform the review, but for whatever reason, the pics he attached to the review were old pictures of the house (I don’t know how old, but at least from before I even saw the house for the first time). This makes it seem very likely that the appraiser didn’t actually go to the house.Can I use this information to challenge the appraisal? I’m apparently on the clock with closing, so I’m pushing forward, but I feel very much like I’m being screwed over by a guy who couldn’t bother to do his job.Does anyone have any advice?

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1czsiur/does_an_appraisal_field_reviewer_have_to_visit/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment