Newsflash: Perfect house, neighborhood, lot but … road noise

Hi all!I’m in need of advice. My s/o and I have just purchased what we thought would be our forever home. We were very particular in house shopping with regard to neighborhood, school, safety, home featurea, lot size. We were searching for over a year. We ended up jumping the gun and offering on the house that checked all our boxes. Large lot, great school district, relatively new everything, great condition, square footage. Yard is large and one side of it is adjacent to conservation where we see deer every morning. Schools are highest rated in our area. For reference, home is in florida, suburb to a major city.When we visited house during showing, all we saw is a beautiful yard surrounded by conservation, there is a pool and neighborhood is so clean and manicured in gated community. On top of that the house was staged which certainly helped with visual appeal. The yard is very deep and sort of diamond shape with one side to conservation, and the back end adjacent to the through road that connects two sides of the community. Speed limit on it is 30mph and normally about 1-2 cars per minute drive by. When I visited prior to purchase I didn’t really give the road much thought as it was no a main street and I did not hear any cars go by.Fast forward to now, we moved in and i am terribly bothered by the noise of cars passing. There is a berm and some vegetation, and the house sits far enough back so you can’t hear it inside at all. But I miss the peaceful morning coffee outside, or sitting in the back in the evening enjoying the quiet. I know its little things and it is my own fault for not coming back to check out the house at different times of the day. We saw the house only on weekend when it was quiet. I know these are really small things to be bothered by, because the noise is not that abrasive and you can’t even see cars because of the berm and vegetation, but it is definitely not as quiet as I would like.I am having the worst time and agonizing over it every time I step into the backyard. Is this just buyers remorse or will I actually hate it forever? I am so depressed because this was supposed to be our forever home and we had spent nearly all our savings on the down payment. Maybe it’s just the fatigue from the move and change anxiety that is getting to me…How bad it is to sell the house say after 1 year if I can’t get used to it? most importantly will I have issues selling this house, given that 1 side of it is close to a road (not major) but otherwise it’s nearly perfect?And on the flip side, if i do keep it long term, was wondering if anyone had any luck reducing the noise with natural means, like landscaping with shrubs or trees? I can’t have a wall or a fence because of hoa regulations. I don’t want to spend thousands of dollars on shrubs and hedges if they don’t make any differenceAny tips, advice or encouragement would be much appreciated

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1c7bs6i/perfect_house_neighborhood_lot_but_road_noise/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment