Newsflash: Central Air not working day hours after closing

So I kid you not, I closed on the selling of my house at 4:00 pm. That morning was the first time this year I turned on the air it was 77 degrees in the house. It’s a colonial, that usually takes quite a while to finally cool down. I heard the furnace / blower turn on, and the outside unit.The day goes on, I close on the house, come home,house is still warm, but think nothing of it. Later that evening I’m packing some boxes, and I’m like…man it’s warm in here. Check the thermostat 79 degrees. Obviously something isn’t working. So, the kicker to this story is….the buyers opted for NO INSPECTION. The air worked last year, the last time it was used. Besides the no inspection in the offer, the buyers offered 45 days free rent, which I needed, and they are not ready to move in anyways…win/win also why I liked their offer.So now what…of course we’re having a hot spell, and I don’t want to tell them, because I don’t want to pay for it. It’s not my house anymore. Plus I feel I could of gotten a better price for the house, ( Zillow was showing $3,000. Higher even before we closed)but it was a solid offer, and the realtor said I shouldn’t pass up.Any suggestions…. Thanks

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1cxw58b/central_air_not_working_day_hours_after_closing/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment