Newsflash: Cold feet or second thoughts?

So, me and my wife have been looking for a new house for a bit. We went to see somewhere last week that she liked, but my heart wasn’t in it.I had recently applied to move to my dream position where I work and it was a bit of a process and down to the last 2 candidates and they went with the other. I found out the day we went to visit the house, so I was a bit apathetic. We went to see it a second time on Saturday and brought parents and everyone liked it. I was in a better mood, but I’m not a fan of the kitchen or the back door, and theres 1 or 2 other issues I have. But, it’s in a nice area, not the school district I hoped for, but it’s right by a park and has a decent back yard and it’s probably a steal at this price.We put in an offer and it was accepted and we are moving forward. My concern is that I’m not fully “in” and that I’m going to either be “forcing” myself to go along or just unhappy in the future. My biggest concern is when I woke up this morning to say goodbye to my wife as she left, the first thing I wanted to say in the morning was “I don’t want this house.” I just don’t know if it’s cold feet or if it’s that I wasn’t in a good headspace and now that I’m clearly thinking having “moped” for a few days over the job that I’m getting more in touch. Just, looking to see if second thoughts like this are common and if anyone else has ever woken up with “I don’t want this house.” As a second thought and moved past it. I’ve spoken to my wife and we are going to see it again before the inspection hopefully, but I feel like I’ve put our agent though too much to just “pull out,” as well as we put up 10k earnest money I don’t want to lose, and we’ve put our finance people through a small adventure. I feel like I’m just “committed.” Anyway, sorry to ramble, just looking for thoughts/advice or if this is just normal house buying paranoia.

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1cx6zut/cold_feet_or_second_thoughts/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment