Newsflash: My neighbor and I may be listing our homes at the same time. Does that matter?

My next-door neighbor and I have very similar houses. We also both have kids who are seniors in high school and heading to college in the fall. I have long planned to list my house in Jan-Feb of 2025. I heard from a mutual friend that my neighbor plans to list their house “soon.” I am curious as to whether this will affect my listing. (I don’t want to list my home any sooner than 2025.)Background: we bought our homes six months apart in 2005-6. They paid about $50k more. Their home is *slightly* larger (2500 sqft vs 2600 sqft – they have one more small room on the ground level, but their other rooms are all smaller.) We are on roughly the same size plots (@ 2.5 acres.) My house is at the end of a cul-de-sac; theirs is one house from the end. Same number of bathrooms, bedrooms, garage bays, etc. We have a walk-out finished basement; they have an unfinished basement that isn’t a walkout. We are in a desirable town in Fairfield County; the last house that sold on our street (1.5 years ago) had more than 100 people visit the open house and multiple offers above asking on the first day.Differences: in those 18 years, our neighbor has never renovated their kitchen or bathrooms or even painted their exterior. The house is a disaster inside. They have a dog and put a chain-link fence around the yard. It’s a mess. Which is to say, yes, my house is nicer – but whoever buys my house has to look at the mess next door. (We have privacy trees, but you can still see plenty.) We renovated everything around 10 years ago and while in impeccable condition (for the most part), the kitchen and bathrooms are starting to look dated. (But they’re not from 1971, like next door.) We have always been fanatical about maintenance and landscaping, so we feel that our house will show well and not have any inspection issues, knock on wood. Zillow (yeah, I know) puts my house at ~$30K more than their house.Any suggestions for someone in my shoes? I guess just hope that someone buys their house quickly and makes it beautiful before I list mine? Thanks very much for any thoughts.

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1cwizu1/my_neighbor_and_i_may_be_listing_our_homes_at_the/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment