Newsflash: Found out after signed offer that the Septic tank is only 500 gal for a 3BR. What now?

As the title shows, I’m under contract for a 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom house (1300 sq feet). I have the building and inspection coming up this week but when scheduling the septic inspection, I asked the owner what size septic he has, and he said 500 gal. This house will be mainly for my primary residence with occasional Airbnb rentals. The house is in NY.This is far under the recommended guidelines so now I’m a bit worried. A few questions on what I should do.Does this have implications on being able to get a mortgage? From what I can find, there are no hard restrictions but not sure if anyone has further insight.Is this something I can negotiate the price on? It was never officially stated what size the septic was before signing.Any other considerations or recommendations?Thanks!

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1cwqkh1/found_out_after_signed_offer_that_the_septic_tank/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment