Newsflash: I was threatened after requesting realtor disclosure

I was solicited off market by a realtor. We were talked into pricing by her and thought she was operating in our best interest as she’s a neighbor and acted as if she was working with us the entire process UNTIL we questioned some big misinformation. She went totally silent and stated I do not represent you I represent the buyer. She acted like she was working for us! We are under contract and all set to close soon. This really is not the buyers fault. However she talk to us about $100,000 down in price was very specific false information.I told her the best resolution was for her to come down and her commission, since we were leaving a lot of money on the table due to her false guidance. I spoke to the broker, and he basically told me that she can tell me whatever she wants if it’s in the best interest of her buyer, including blurring the lines of the truth (his exact words) I sent an email asking for them to send me the disclosure and he sent me a commission agreement (that was signed by phone under pressure from her with zero explanation) in that document, there IS a line about disclosure, but my understanding of Virginia law is it needs to be underlined, bolded, and very conspicuous, or in a separate document altogether. I responded that this disclosure was NONE of those things And did not look like it met standards of Virginia law disclosure. Then I received an email from an attorney, threatening to put a lien on my home and sue me for breach of contract, and attorneys fees if I did not close, and if I did not pay the full commission at that time. I have only requested an adjustment for these lies, which the agent has never denied. I have never once stated that I would not close and they are insinuating that they are representing the buyer and I have spoken to the buyer before and had a great rapport and believe he knows nothing about this threat from the attorney. I am trying to find an attorney. How am I supposed to let this woman come back into my house for the walk-through? This is the biggest con job I have ever experienced in my life and yes, I feel stupid for not knowing better & for trusting her.

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1cvucef/i_was_threatened_after_requesting_realtor/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment