Newsflash: can I pay a buyer agent hourly?

I’m a first time home buyer thick in the weeds trying to learn about real estate and REI strategy. The first property we’re looking into buying new construction as a primary residence (though we might consider a resale property that is no more than 3-5 years old) particularly in FL. I’ve spent the last few months learning about the buying process (whether for resale or new construction), important contingencies to consider before signing a purchase agreement(the right to revoke or renegotiate if the appraisal is lower than FMV, inspection,etc.), important questions to ask the listing agent based on damages or external disturbances to the property (especially given FL is a caveat emptor state), I’ve done research on when the best time to buy is (from a seasonality perspective) based on days-on-market + spread on list price vs sold price, I’ve tried learning how to comp similar properties sold within a 6 month window, what does vs doesn’t add equity to a property, questions I can ask for negotiations (i.e “how many offers have been made?” for a resale and questions about incentives or negotiating lot premiums, design upgrades, closing costs for new construction), etc.That said, I’d not only want to have a more appealing offer by representing myself but I genuinely find a deep interest in learning the in/outs on real estate transactions. I would prefer to have an experienced agent serve more as a mentor/advisor. That said, is it common to ask a *buyers* agent if they would partner with me on an hourly rate instead of commission? If so, what is a reasonable hourly rate? In addition to a real estate lawyer, I’d like to partner with a buyer agent that could advise me on “gotchas” that I might not be considering

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1cvd233/can_i_pay_a_buyer_agent_hourly/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment