Newsflash: Inherited House in Disrepair, Selling

Hello all, my sister and I have been left with our late mother’s house and have decided to sell it..it is a 2b/2b ranch with a large lawn and a 3-tier back yard (abt ~80ft width, ~200 ft length), with the 3rd/highest tier including an 8ft pool. It had been in some disrepair leading up to my mother’s death and now being 2 years after, we are ready to make moves to sell. My sister and I both live in different states and don’t have the means to fix it up for a nice pretty sale.. Some of the problems include tree branches working their way through the living room floor(trying to bud through the carpet), another branch infiltrating the attic, one or two walls needing sheet rock, and extensive lawn work, and possibly a roof repair. Looking at the size of the lot I feel makes it more valuable, despite the repairs needed. We got a quote which i think was a lowball, of 90k. 40 is owed on the house. This quote was given by our neighbor who flips houses, who of course would have his own personal interest because he knows the ins-and-outs of everything, and conversely my sister and I have no temperature meter whatsoever to be able to judge whether or not this is accurate. The only thing I do know is that this is a seller’s market and people are paying over asking and somehow still have the money to do repairs. I do not want to lose out on any money by making a dumb decision as her and I were not left with a Will nor life insurance after my mom’s passing. I’m writing here to ask advice on the following for a second opinion: 1. Do we just call an appraiser to see if we were really low-balled?Should we try our luck with one of those companies like “We Buy Ugly Houses” or others like them?If anyone here has any experience with such type of companies, any comments or advice? I’d also like to know your experience with them.Any advice not related to the above would be appreciated as well. Everyone thank you for taking the time to read—my sister and I are in over our heads and dont know the first thing about handling a situation like this, let alone real estate dealings itself. Kind words please.

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1cuminq/inherited_house_in_disrepair_selling/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment