Newsflash: Upside down 190k in house that still needs repairs. What to do? How do I go forward?

Around spring 2022, right before the interest rates began to climb into the 4%, I bought my first home in Austin Texas. It is a 1,200 sq ft house. I didn’t really like the house, but the market was rough so I went ahead and bought it. I did it because my realtor told me that in a year to a year and half I could sell it and break even. He also said that it was unlikely when the interest rates went up it would affect the Austin market. And he said if I didn’t buy a house soon I would be priced out of the market. As a first time buyer that never experienced the market, I did not realize what an outrageous lie that was. I bought the house (built in the 19080s) for a little under 500k. It still needed renovations. I spent 40k on new flooring, roof, water heater, and other misc items. With all the renovations, I spent about $540k on the house total. I recently had a realtor come to my house and price it… what she would put it on the market for, and she said she would place it at $380k on the market. That means I would be at a loss/deficit of 190k if I sold the house after fees.The house still needs about another 40k in renovations. For instance, the old windows leak really bad, so in the winter it is very drafty and when it rains the house gets pretty humid. I was looking for advice on what to do and how to go forward. I have been told to live in it for a while and let it appreciate, but it’s been 2 years and the house hasn’t begun to climb in value. This isn’t the house I want to spend the rest of my life in and I am already in my 50s. And I have no carpenter skills (I tried and I am very bad at that stuff) so I can not work on this house myself. I would like to replace the windows (12k) to make the house more comfortable, but then I will just be more underwater. What do I do with a house like this? How do I go forward? I am really stumped. 

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1cu76ge/upside_down_190k_in_house_that_still_needs/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment