Newsflash: My good friend just told me his MIL and future wife put his name on mortgage and only hers on house title. Getting married in 5 days…. Is this big issue?

As in the title my buddy is a great worker but doesn’t like paperwork, phone calls, I do his taxes… you get the picture. He lives in Virginia and was not married at the time. She is a bit younger and had zero credit history. He had a loan that had gone to collections. Her mom loaned him the 10k to pay it off so they were able to get a mortgage loan. After a series of conversations, he pried it out of her that he is the sole name on the mortgage. Somehow his name is not on the houses title at all, just hers. They are getting married this upcoming Saturday. I believe they truly love each other and it’s not a scam, but he was married previously and got screwed. I would like him to be protected in case of separation. I advised to get a lawyer or get added to the title. I’m not sure how it works in Va. If she divorced him is she the sole owner of the house, or is it more complex than that?

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1cgdfpl/my_good_friend_just_told_me_his_mil_and_future/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment