Newsflash: I just found out a house I owned 15 years ago now has a different address despite no apparent change to the structure/lot. Why?

My parents were driving by my old house and sent me a photo of how it looks now. Looks pretty much unchanged, until I noticed the house number over the front door was different. I thought I’d forgotten my old address or something, but after some research, it definitely used to be 1612 and now it’s definitely 1628. Google, Zillow/Redfin, and the county assessor all seem to show both addresses attached to this house/parcel, though I can’t figure out when or why it changed. The neighbors’ numbers have also changed.What happened? I’ve never heard of an unmodified house/lot changing numbers. It’s a tiny lot and house, so it’s not like they could split them into a new residence. Why would the numbers change?ETA: Here’s a screenshot of Google Maps – looks like there’s a super-skinny new build squeezed between 1608 and what was formerly 1610. It’s been given 1620, and the next 3 houses have been renumbered 1624, 1628, 1632. No one else’s numbers on the street have changed, including across the street… so mystery solved, but still confusing! Thanks to u/AlaskanMinnie

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1ce5vwm/i_just_found_out_a_house_i_owned_15_years_ago_now/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment