Newsflash: Scammed by a realtor?

So I have been working with realtor for over a year in NJ. Me and my wife, let’s say, have decent job and qualified for decent amount of home. I was recommended by my cousins about this Realtor let’s call her WR (worst realtor). There a few things she did theoout the home buying process that really annoyed me personally…1. Very very very pushy and always take seller’s side and force us to believe paying high price is what the house worth. (We send many offers and she always made us bid high highbhigh).2. She would tall to my wife and tell her that my conservative approach will not get us the house. This has caused many fights between my wife and me. At one point she gave me an ultimatum that I either buy a house or she will leave this place and get bigger more expensive rental.3. I always sense a bit of lie in everything she says. She would never discus numbers. All she did is, you have to pay more to get the house.4. She always made us accept seller’s asking price and their terms. She did this buy manipulating my wife. Yes she would call my wife and talk to her for ours…The worst is yet to come…So after a year of looking and so many fights between me and my wife I told my self let’s buy a small townhouse and get out of the loop of this agent. I found one and.l we went in for showing. In this same community I have a buddy who bought fsbo townhouse of 1700sqft for 405k. (Needed some cosmetic work worth 30k) . So we went to look for this townhouse in same community listed at 425k. During our showing we liked the house and me and my wife kept on saying “we have a buddy who brought 1700sqft for 405k.”Now the agent send me come comps averaging out at 465k that we’re sold in last 6 months. I send an offer of 450k and they countered at 460k and I just took it. My biggest mistake: I did not check the sqft of the house on NJPAaracEl. And my agent did not disclose us the sqft. The MLS did not wrote sqft. After the offer accepted I woke next day morning and checked NJPARCELA AND THIS TOWNHOUSE WAS 1500SQFT.I immediately messaged the bad realtor and she said..” I thought u knew the sqft. I just ran the comps for 3bd/2br properties in this zipcode.” I was sooooo mad and annoyed but I promised my wife after a year of looking that I will buy the next house we see. I felt like she scammed me. She is a compulsive lier. She would talk to my wife and actually created distance between me and my wife. She REALLY REALL REALLY needs a house.Now it was over paying around 25k over fair market value of this townhouse but I went with this because it would be a month of salary for both of us. But I really feel she cheated. We are closing on Monday and although I’m happy seeing my wife happy I feel like I wish this agent did not cheated on me.I promised my self to never use this agent and the company she is affiliated. She even said that “you can never negotiate in this market. U just have to pay more….”I promised my wife that I will not put a bad review of this agent. (Trust me, me and my wife had wayyyy toooo many fights event divorce during the home buying process. I’m a bit conservative with money and she just needs a home)Yes we are 1st time buyers……….My biggest mistakes that I learn..- never introduced your space or share contact with realtor.- always keep real-estate negotiations between you and agent. Not bring spouse in this.- never trust a word the agent says.-only share limited financial information to the agent-there are no ethical agents in this market. Do not trust them. If you feel that agent is pushy, just change them. (My wife felt bad for this agent because per her thinking she was spending all this time on us and not making money. We even gave her a few gift cards throughout the year).I usually don’t stress on minor things but I feel like we have been scammed. She- misused my wife’s mental state and her need for buying house. 25k might not be a big value compared to my wife’s happiness but I just wish we were not scammed. I told all my family and friends to never use her.

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1dr6wnh/scammed_by_a_realtor/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment