Newsflash: Renting “Duplex Up” That Is Actually Two Separate Units On Same Lease

Hi all, I hope you’re well. I have a slightly complicated question. I am interested in a listing for a 3-bedroom “duplex up” apartment that has two bedrooms on the main floor, and one bedroom in the upper floor. However, the more I research the apartment, the more it seems that it’s actually two separate units on two floors, which isn’t ideal (it doesn’t seem like there is any shared common space, just the stairs that connect all units in the building.)Are you allowed to rent the two units on the same lease, if the owner seems to classify it as one “duplex up” unit? Also, does this bring up issues with HUD/voucher programs?I tried my best to research the topic for hours, but couldn’t find a single thing on the subject. Any thoughts or help would be appreciated, thank you.

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1dr3a19/renting_duplex_up_that_is_actually_two_separate/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment