Newsflash: My father 73 can’t get a mortgage as he’s a pensioner what do we do?

Our 2 bedroom bungalow with a converted garage has been valued at £115k but we were still told to add another 5k so it’s on sale for £120k at the minute. We have 7 families over on Monday for viewing. The only issue we have now is we need a bigger house at least a 3-4 bedroom.I’m sure you will all know we can not get a house within £120k with a 3-4 bed. Part of that £120k will also be fees for the solicitor surverys etc.. so we’ll be looking for something slightly less than £120k as well. My father is not able to get a mortgage as he’s a pensioner. I’m 21 myself, my credit score is good but I don’t have any credit cards, overdrafts, finances or loans. I don’t show that I save enough left over to cover a mortgage payment either. I mean I can do this but mortgage just wasn’t a thing for me to consider up until now. There’s a few other factors but I don’t think I can take a mortgage out on my name either. There’s my elder brother but he’s wanting to take a mortgage out for himself and his wife as they need their own place. Which is understandable but then he also says he’s not getting his own place and cannot seem to make his mind up. Whether it’s a terrace or a semi detached or bungalow a house with a 3-4 bed that would be good for my family is around £150k-160. Any ideas on what we can do? Is there any support my father could get. I understand this should have been thought about before putting the house up for sale but these things weren’t discussed. My father thinks mortgages are as simple as how they used to be back in his days but we all know thats not the case. Need advice please! Thank you in advance 🙂

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1dre8gv/my_father_73_cant_get_a_mortgage_as_hes_a/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment