Newsflash: First time selling home

So we are selling our childhood home, which we’ve lived in for 40 years. We listed, found a buyer and are due to close on the 1st of July. My plan was to have my family and belongings out by the 29th. So tonight would be our last night here. This was 6 weeks ago. Last week an inspection was scheduled and an appraisal and the buyer tagged along, which was okay. However the wife was being nit picky about belongings of ours sitting out front, demanding to know when it would be gone.My agent mentioned to me last week about being out by the 26th, because closing was the 28th. So I said ” no, we agreed to closing the 1st, that gives me the 30th to make sure all is gone and clean, and plus I have no arrangements made until the 29th”. Well, turns out the buyer said they “changed the closing to the 28th instead” but failed to notify my agent or their own. What gives? The other day they came to do some floor repairs, had zero consideration for my family being home, left doors open so my cats got out and then denied it. Didnt bother to knock upon arrival or on any bedroom doors before entering, and they KNOW we still live here and I have children. They were nosing through our things, moving things around and so I called my agent and told her we were very uncomfortable with them here and what they were doing was far beyond fixing some tiles. I get a message yesterday asking if I minded they “stop in” in the evening, a reason was not given. I said no.We’re moving out yesterday, today and tomorrow. It’s already emotionally wearing on me, having to say goodbye to a house I’ve known all my life. So I said no. Is this normal behavior for buyers? It just seems.very disrespectful and intrusive in my opinion and I feel like they’re trying to push us out.

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1dr0by6/first_time_selling_home/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment