Newsflash: Drainage easement added after I bought?

We’re planning on talking to the city and title company on Monday but I was hoping for some reassurances that I’m looking at this the right way.So behind my house a builder has put up some duplexes with no regard to thr drainage of those properties. As a result water has been pooling in mine and other neighbor’s yards. The building Inspector was by and made the builder fix the drainage. Apparently it wasn’t enough and they need to grade it more because the builder contacted my real estate agent (because I’m in the middle of selling) and says they need to tear down my fence and are claiming a drainage easement.I don’t have an easement. No documentation I have from the sale doesn’t list an easement. My ctiys website said to find easements you should hire a lawyer or title company because they don’t have a single pane of glass to view all easements in the city. My title company didn’t find anything when I bought my house.I do have a suspicion that they added a drainage easement after the builder started to build his new duplexes but that was well after I bought. If it was added after I purchased and I didn’t sign anything then the easement isn’t my problem, right? Or if it did exist but the title company missed it, then it’s their problem?It’s just such a headache and I’m half-suspecting the builder is just being a dick because his houses aren’t selling and I’m undercutting his price.

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1dr8i60/drainage_easement_added_after_i_bought/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment