Newsflash: My father in law is dying and I have power of attorney. We are trying to transfer his property to another family member to avoid it going into probate, the earliest we can get an attorney is in 10 days, but I don’t think he has that long. Can I do this myself before he passes away?

I’m trying to do this on my own since there’s very little time I feel. It’s a complicated situation. He went into the hospital and then into hospice, where he improved dramatically. Then, he got an infection that spread quickly and he went septic and had to go back to the hospital. His insurance situation changed due to hospice, and he has loads of medical bills now. He has end stage heart failure, the infection isn’t going down anymore, and he’s too weak for heart treatment.My wife’s family is worried about his property going into probate to pay off his debts. Since I have power of attorney, I’m trying to find out what documentation I need to transfer his house to one of his relatives. I’ve been reading a lot on it and it seems like I would just need to fill out an affidavit of true consideration and a warranty deed? I’ve also posted this to r/legal any advice is appreciated.

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1dqmjc3/my_father_in_law_is_dying_and_i_have_power_of/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment