Newsflash: How much can I really afford for a home?

Hey guys! First time buyer here. I’m looking to buy a home here in Houston, TX within the next year or two. From my research, it seems my income of 110K allows me to purchase a home between 250-350K range. Does this sound accurate? When I used a mortgage calculator it seemed that given the current avg interest rate (6-7%), for a 325K home with 20% down I’d be paying $2-2.2K/mo. Is that normal? Also looking for opinions on whether I should hurry to purchase a home sooner rather than later given the current economic state. Any input is greatly appreciated, I’m very new to this and am sure I have much to learn.

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1dqk65o/how_much_can_i_really_afford_for_a_home/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment