Newsflash: HOA Violations at closing

Hi all,We’re the buyers and were scheduled to close tomorrow. Closing is now delayed because of some minor appraisal issues that needed fixed. Yesterday, the HOA disclosures were emailed to me and it’s a laundry list of items that also need to be fixed. If the sellers won’t, then we would sign an agreement and have 45 days to get the house right. We would need to pressure wash the house, fence, and roof. Fix a crack on the patio, fix some fence boards, and pull weeds. There were more issues, but the sellers fixed those as part of the appraisal. The sellers agent told our agent that they won’t do it or provide credits.I’m frustrated HOA crap is popping up now and the sellers neglecting to keep the house in regulations is being thrust on us. Why list the house without making sure it’s HOA compliant or at least be prepared to get it right?If I were selling a house, I would take care of my shit as part of the sell. Am I looking at this in the wrong way? We aren’t desperate to buy this house. We love the location, but we have time and at this point, I’m starting to wonder what else they neglected. Any thoughts or advice?

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1dpe10k/hoa_violations_at_closing/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment