Newsflash: Selling late dad’s house… Which option should I go with?

I had been consulting with a RE agent who told me that my dad’s house needed to be cleaned out before we could proceed with selling, so I contacted an estate liquidator and had that done–house cleared and anything saleable was sold. The agent is now saying the next best step would be to get an appraisal. Well, I received an offer by the liquidator today… I spoke with him and he told me that, if I wanted, he could do the work of a RE agent and list it for me, and would only take 4% as a fee. He said it really makes no difference which agent/company you go with these days, because the house will go up everywhere (e.g. all the homebuying/selling websites) anyways. He also said the appraisal wasn’t necessarily a good idea, because the house is a big time fixer-upper (like possibly 200k to remodel) and it’s best if I just sell totally as-is and do not take any responsibility for any of the issues with the house. He said I could just do a month-long contract with him, where he lists it for 400k and we see what offers we get, and if it doesn’t sell in a month then I can use a different RE agent if I want. He wasn’t pressuring me to go with him, and told me to take a little while to think about it.Little backstory of the house: Built in the 70’s (I think)WaterVIEW (public street, then water, in front of the house)2700sqftGood areaProbably worth around 600-700k fixed upDad was a hoarder and did not take good care of the house though, which is why it needs a massive remodelWhat do you all think?

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1dp6fis/selling_late_dads_house_which_option_should_i_go/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment