Newsflash: Do I owe my buyers agent?

I’ve been working with an agent to a buy house but I don’t really trust her. After we spoke on the phone for around 40 minutes she sent me an agreement saying I’d owe her 5% commission regardless of what the seller is willing to pay her. She didn’t talk about this agreement durning our call & I was about to sign it thinking it wasn’t a big deal. I refused to sign it and after some back and forth she agreed. First, she told me that it was required by law which I knew wasn’t true because I know someone who recently bought a house and didn’t have to sign an agreement.Second, she told me how she wouldn’t want to be unfairly cut out of a deal (which I understand) but at the same time she told me that having a buyers agent would be at no cost to me and she wasn’t transparent about this agreement. I’ve found every apartment that I’ve seen so far and she has never went to any of the appointments with me but she did send her assistant to go to about 2-3 apartments with me. Recently, I put an offer on an apartment through her which she encouraged me to put my highest offer and it got accepted. 2-3 days after my offer was accepted I was told that the seller moved on to another buyer without any warning. This doesn’t make sense to me that the seller didn’t give a deadline or a final check in before moving on. Since, I have no direct contact with the seller I have no idea what actually happened. My agent said it’s because I took too long and she didn’t want to pressure me. The reason I took 2-3 days is because I found out the co-op had a land lease after my offer was accepted. I actually asked my agent if the co-op had a land lease 2-3 weeks ago in which she said no and that she wouldn’t have even allowed me to consider it if it was. Yet, she made claims about how the land lease in this case will re-new at the same price and that it won’t effect me without any real proof. I felt like she just wanted the deal to happen.I understand that agents need to make money. However, I feel uncomfortable with having an agent since I don’t have direct contact with the seller. And also had she given me the correct info about the land lease I would’ve saved energy and time. Should I tell my agent directly that I don’t want to work with her anymore? Do I need to say anything or can I just start seeing apartments on my own? If I buy an apartment that I’ve seen on my own & don’t tell her would this be morally incorrect or “cutting” her out even though I did the work of finding it and making the appointment?Sorry, I know I’m over thinking this but any help would be appreciated!

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1dp6u36/do_i_owe_my_buyers_agent/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment