Newsflash: Urgent tenant issue

So, I bought my first house this month and am starting medical school next month. I have been planning far a while to do what’s commonly called house hacking. I’m living at my 3 bedroom house and planning on renting out the other two rooms to other students and classmates. I actually have a showing scheduled next week and have several individuals interested in renting a room. Problem is like some thoughts on is how to manage being a landlord and living with your tenant? I’m concerned that living with people my same age group could potentially make it difficult to enforce lease agreements. For example if they can’t pay rent or want to break a rule agreed in the lease they may feel more comfortable doing so given that I would be “just another class mate” I’d appreciate your thoughts. So far I’ve thought of just being strict from the beginning and establishing a professional relationship. Or alternatively labeling another family member or such as the landlord and then referring to myself as the property manager which would in theory remove my power and control of negotiations in the lease.

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1djk1sr/urgent_tenant_issue/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment