Newsflash: Remodel: 2.5 bathrooms vs 2 full baths

Hi, I am a first-time home owner wanting to remodel two of the bathrooms in my house. One is a functioning full bathroom accessible from the hallway. The other is a non-functional half bathroom only accessible from one of the bedrooms. https://imgur.com/p12MgOvI have not yet spoken to any contractors to determine if this is even possible, but I’m considering combining both bathrooms into a single with two entries. I’m thinking something similar to what I’ve seen in Californian houses, where the bath/shower is in its own room and the toilet and sink are in an adjoining room. This, however, would take the property from a 2.5 bath to a 2 bath and I’m not sure how much that would affect the final sell price. The only other bathroom is in the master bedroom.The biggest reason I’m interested in this style of remodel is because the master bedroom is on the other side of the house from the rest of the bedrooms. If we start a family in the near future, I’d want our room to be closer to the nursery. The room with the half bath would be the best place for that but we don’t want to give up our in-suite bathroom so I’m trying to weigh out our specific needs with the impacts to our future resale value. This house is my primary residence and will be for a few years but, eventually, I would like to rent it out or otherwise sell it.Is it a bad decision to turn 1.5 bathrooms into 1? If so, about roughly what percentage of resale value might I expect to lose on that decision? Does it make a difference if both existing bathrooms are tiny and cramped and combining them into 1 yields a nice sized bathroom? Any insights/opinions/experience is welcome. Thanks in advance.

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1djpn4c/remodel_25_bathrooms_vs_2_full_baths/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment