Newsflash: Is this dodgy??

Hello!I’m buying a house at the moment and the survey said there were some problems with the roof – they were category 3, (crack in chimney, slates with tingles, nail sickness). I sent the pics to 2 roofers who agreed it was coming to the end of its life – was typical for its age but did need replacing really especially as there is a loft conversion.I asked for a price reduction of £6000 (I’d been quoted £10k and £8k) the vendors decided to get their own report done. But it was done my someone the estate agent recommended which caused a raised eyebrow from me. I’m due the report soon BUT agent said there’s no need for a new roof and that there’s some general maintenance the sellers will pay for. I’m sure they’re great people but they’ll want to get it done as cheaply as possible won’t they? What should I suggest?

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1dimpoe/is_this_dodgy/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment