Newsflash: sump pump died and basement flooded night before closing

jesus christ, talk about shit luck.me (seller) finally moved everything out of the house on thursday. walkthrough friday evening. closing on saturday.overnight friday, my sump pump failed and a huge storm came in as well. the basement flooded (minor flooding, but need to rip of carpets/dry etc.I have a backup unit that also failed since the power was off for 12 hours and the backup battery ran out of juice. we only found out when the new owners went to the property on sat evening.I am normally there, but of course in the 24 hour period where no one was there, this shit happens (so i could not mitigate it by buying a new battery and connecting it to the backup bump) who is liable?do I have to replace the sump pump? do I have to hire someone to replace the basement carpet if needed?

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1dhken0/sump_pump_died_and_basement_flooded_night_before/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment