Newsflash: I don’t understand, just a homeowner observing.

I moved from WA to SC bought my house sight unseen, seemed fine to me, needed some work no problem. Once I moved I saw older houses in my neighborhood most consist of older 70+ retirees and some houses with younger people that seem to be moving in and out all the time. There was a house directly across the street, people one day moved out in the middle of the night, some random trashed appliances in the backyard. Then about 6-7 months goes by same trash in the backyard, overgrown nobody has come by. I try to find owner, surely someone must own this property, of course it’s a corporation based out of a city 3 hours away. They say they rent it out and the property manager is going to be there soon to clean it up etc. Out of idle curiosity I asked if it’s possibly for sale? No it’s not. Okay two months goes by, I call again and the property was sold to another corporation and they practically said the same thing that a manager will be out there to take care of it. Of course that didn’t happen, eventually the sheriff started posting notes and whatnot, I didn’t read it. About a month later someone came to mow the grass, a truck pulled up maybe to clean up the inside a bit. And a few weeks later they have new tenants.I can’t tell you what they fixed. The houses with young people in it are owned by corporations, and are half ass renting it out to people. Those houses look horribly taken care of and are an eye sore. Me and one other person who’ve moved in to this neighborhood have renovated our house’s and it looks nice etc. The older people I’ve talked to who have lived here their whole life will pass it on to their children or whatever those houses are well taken care of but need renovation. And some said they’d sell it to me if I wanted to move some family over here as well. Bottom line, wtf is up with those shitty houses that are “not for sale” is there a way to mitigate corporations from buying those houses or at least take good care of them? I don’t get it. I’m not trying to impose some crazy tax code on regular landlords. But come on what is this shit? What am I missing? Keep in mind I’m asking because I’m ignorant and would like some clarification, is this going on everywhere? What is this a symptom of and how can it improve?

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1di1ona/i_dont_understand_just_a_homeowner_observing/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment