Newsflash: Selling land with teardown house on it. Pricing question and should I tear down house?

I have an 11.69 acre property in Middle Tennessee. The property has electric, 1500 gallon septic tank and a good well drilled. Things are getting a little crowded for my taste in this area with a lot of HCOL refugees coming in. Would it be better to tear down the house before selling the land or sell it as is?Pricing- There are a few listings in the area asking over 31k an acre but I believe they are fishing for a sucker. There is a property that sold last year across the road for 12,500 an acre. It is 10 acres of land only (no well/septic) The property is roughly 2 acres of flat pasture-type land and the remainder is a wooded slope (pretty much unusable). My property is roughly 9 1/2 acres of level pasture land with the remainder woodlot. So if I just do the math 11.69 acres at 12,500 an acre would be 146,125 dollars. I am also thinking it would cost around 10k for a well and septic. That would be 156,125 as a “value”. The burning question is how much more an acre is pasture land vs a steep woodlot acre? My next-door neighbor has a son from out of State that is wanting to move close to his father. He has his eye on a property (42 acres and a 1200 sqft barndo with covered shop area) going up for auction on the backside of his Dad’s place but there has been some crazy talk about it going for a million bucks. I am going to approach him if he doesn’t win the auction. Should I contact him before the auction and mention my intention to sell so he doesn’t feel pressured to overpay for the auction property?

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1dhbudh/selling_land_with_teardown_house_on_it_pricing/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment