Newsflash: Keeping track of cash on cash when making extra payments on heloc or mortgage

Hi all, this might be a dumb question but I am curious what other people do if you pay extra on your heloc or mortgage. I like to make extra payments when I have money sitting around, moreso on my heloc since I am still in the draw period. It saves me money on the interest, and keeps my utilization lower so I can keep my score high for the next purchase. I am curious if you ignore the extra payment to get a more accurate representation? I had 50k set aside for a flip that is taking forever to close so I decided to dump it into my highest interest rate Heloc to save the interest while I wait but it seemed dumb to list a 50k payment for that property. I am setting up Stessa to start using that and trying to dial in on the best way to do things and the Heloc has thrown me off in general. I wasn’t sure what to do for acquisition costs as the original purchase price is much lower than current value after renovations and my balance on the heloc is higher. I decided to put the acquisition cost as the appraised value for the heloc making my equity downpayment 30 percent of that. Not sure if that is the best way to do it? Thanks.

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1dgmy76/keeping_track_of_cash_on_cash_when_making_extra/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment