Newsflash: Sell home or keep it as a rental

Long time lurker, first time poster. My wife and I are in disagreement about our situation and looking for advice on what you would do in our situation. Some back ground:Current Home: Owe 175k, Worth 300k, 2.9% interest rate VA loan. We could rent it out for $2000-$2500 a month max. Mortgage is currently $1100 a monthOur Debt: Car Loan: $15,871 @ 5.29% IR, payment is $488 a monthLoan to parents: 24k (they are flexible on payments but we have been paying $500 month @ 3.2% IR)Student Loan: $9,600 @ 3.4% IR, payment is $131 a monthWe have both decided we are outgrowing our current home and we want to move to a bigger home regardless. Looking in the $400-$450k range. What I want to do is keep our current home and rent it out and use some of the cash flow to fix up the home in the next couple years (needs outside painted, new roof, carpet etc) and then keep it as an investment because the rate is so low and the cash flow is pretty good. I want to get into real estate investing anyway in the near future.My wife wants to sell the home and use the equity to pay off all, or a majority of our debt, and possibly put some more towards a down payment on a new home, then save the rest. I work in an unstable field but we gross together between $120k-$150k a year. I should also add that I am a new Realtor (along with my full time job) so I would be able to save on commission when selling our current home and on our new home. Looking for advice on what you would do in our situation. Thanks in advance!

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1dnrxfp/sell_home_or_keep_it_as_a_rental/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment