Newsflash: When to start lowering price – Sort of a unique property in a unique life situation

Denver area. Bought in 2020, very different environment compared to today (duh). At any rate, for personal/family reasons we are relocating across the country.My wife and child have already relocated to her parents in the Midwest as my wife is pregnant and we needed to establish a stable doctor situation. I stayed behind to finish getting the house ready and my intention is to stay until we close and then get to the midwest after.The property is a little unique.1700 sq/ft ranchNo basement.35 acre lota very large detached 3 car garage (in addition to a normal attached 2 car garage).It’s not necessarily unique to the area, all the lots in my vicinity are fairly large and several folks have added a detached building. Basements are common but so are homes like mine without a basement. It is, however, unique to the current market. There aren’t many homes for sale like ours.We remodeled all the bathrooms, kitchen (New range, microwave/hood, dishwasher, sink), painted everything, removed popcorn ceilings…we’ve touched every room. The house shows very well, I’m proud of what we’ve done to it and have gotten some really positive feedback in this regard.Home has only been on the market for 12 days. Average DOM is about 30 days right now.Showings have been somewhat slow. We’ve had 2 open houses and between those two days we had about 10 people come through. We have had one guy very interested due to the shop but he’s concerned it’s too much house for him (single dude with a car hobby). We’ve had two people bow out because of the lack of AC.We listed at $749k based on comps and have gotten some feedback from agents that the price feels right. I don’t doubt $750k is fair and in line, but I think it’ll take the right buyer. My gut when we were pricing it told me to just price aggressively …I was thinking $730k but I never verbalized this (completely on me).The thing is…I need to get to my wife sooner rather than later. I’m toying with the idea of lowering $15k this weekend but I do worry about the optics and leverage impacts this would have and I’m not actually sure it would change anything. Reinforcing this idea…a 2500 sq/ft house in the next neighborhood went under contract in 3 days. It’s more or less the same footprint but it has a basement and AC. It’s been updated a little bit but not as much as ours.There is a scenario where I just pack everything up and leave…there are things about the property that need to be maintained but I can figure that out. I feel like I’m getting a little impatient but there is some urgency here.What would you do?

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1djmnbe/when_to_start_lowering_price_sort_of_a_unique/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment