Newsflash: How to Structure Rent to Own in Texas

As the seller, I could use some guidance on how to structure rent to own financing for our previous home. Custom built 2000 sqft 3/2 on 10 acres 40 min outside of Austin TX.There is a big discrepency in my market between the monthly cost to rent a property like mine ($2500) and the monthly PITI payments at the current interest rates (~$4500 PI, $800 Tax, $2000 Insurance, $7300 total). My thinking is that rent to own allows me (the seller) and the buyer to overcome the difficulties created by the current high interest rates and high real estate prices in my area. How to I pick a starting rent? Do I start closer to the $7300 a month it would cost to own the house in today’s market? Or do I start closer to the $2500 it would cost to rent my home in today’s market?One reason for the low monthly rent potential, the home is not a good rental property, half of the home value is in the 10 acres and renters are not willing to pay enough extra for those 10 acres.My realtor wants to me go the seller financing route because he thinks buyers will be more willing to pay closer to the $4500 principle and interest. He thinks that rent to own would attract prospective renters looking to pay closer to rental rates.What should I expect to be able to charge monthly for rent to own? How would you structure the deal? How should I fairly compensate my realtor since a sale will not be occurring? Rent to Own VS. Seller Financing, what is your opinion?

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1djo20w/how_to_structure_rent_to_own_in_texas/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment