Newsflash: Recent Immigrant Green Card Holder / US Citizen Husband – Do we qualify to buy?

Good morning Reddit community! My husband is a 35 yo US Citizen, he has been making between $50-$54K a year for the past 3 years, with this current employer almost 4 years, and great employment history. I arrived to US last August, and have been working since December 2023, (most recent job for 3 months since I got better pay offer) now making $58K/y meaning our combined income is over $100K for this years. Since before me moving to the US and getting married we have saved together with about $15,000 K in savings already. We are in Florida, Lee County. We currently live in a one bedroom apartment paying about $1,450 a month, and looking to move in to a 2 bedroom, apartment rentals are about $1,800 – $2,000, while there are homes in the area within lows $200Ks that based on estimations I’ve made on Zillow with a 5% down payment would still have better payment than that and would be ours. My husband credit score is 669 on Experian, 730s on TransUnion and over 710 in Equifax (Experian has not updated a paid off Credit Card from earlier this years for some reason the others did), he has outstanding payment history as well, and of course way more years. My credit history is shorter as I’ve been here for 9 months, however my Experian score is 724, Equifax about 710, I bought a car at an Expensive rate to build my credit paying on time every month for over 6 months, and obtained two credit cards on my name upon arrival to build my credit which has been proven successful.Now with this profile, I want to know if it would be worth it for us to apply for buying with a mortgage rather than rent, because paying rent feels like giving away our money. Anyone here that can provide guidance?

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1dgi4sl/recent_immigrant_green_card_holder_us_citizen/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment