Newsflash: Bad Realtor or do I have too high of expectations?

I’m going to list the sequence of events. This is my first time buying a home. I’ve worked with a different realtor before that was very transparent with these things. But idk if I just have high expectations or if this new realtor isn’t very good and possibly misleading to encourage a sale. 1) I send listing to realtor. I tell him I’m interested and to inquire as to why it’s back on the market after pending. He said previous buyer backed out due to issue with basement wall and roof. Roof has been repaired and he said the seller estimates 3-7k for the basement wall. I’m okay with that so he shows it to me.2) I don’t have much experience on what is good or bad condition but notice the floors are super uneven. I ask him why and he says it’s just an old house settling. He doesn’t mention anything else that’s alarming. I have no idea what I’m looking at other than taking note of condition of appliances.3) I want to buy it. I tell him at asking is fine and so he sends me the contract to sign. I ask why there’s no property disclosure and he says I don’t need it yet.4) A few days later I ask him again about the estimate that the seller had for the basement repair. He then sends me a full estimate from a contractor…would’ve been nice to know before making the offer. He’s not clear on when he received it. Why wouldn’t he have pushed for this before the contract?the next day, my mortgage broker tells me that the property condition disclosure is required by law. I tell the realtor this and he sends it over as a Docusign that I need to sign at my earliest convenience. In the PDC, there’s all kinds of flags and it says “see attached report”. Foundation issues, pests, flooding, etc. There was no report attached. So I ask the realtor. He then sends it a little while later.The report is the previous buyer’s inspection report showing all kinds of significant issues, including some major foundation problems. I’m shocked. I ask him for feedback on this new info. He says he can’t comment on it because it’s from the previous buyer (only a month ago) and that I need to get my own report before he can comment on it. Idk if this is a realtor thing but this is absurd. I understand I need to get my own one but if a inspector pointing out a significantly bowed walls and major issues is not going to change to the next. If I actually had this info, I probably would not have made the offer or I would have come in significantly less.Now, to me – these actions seem like he was trying to hide info from me to get me to sign the contract and move forward with the sale process. I’m kind of pessimistic though so maybe I shouldn’t assume that. But at the minimum, it just seems like he’s really bad at his job. I’m working with a realtor because I expect them to have guidance on property condition/value and to work to get info that will help me with making that decision. Like point out that uneven floors, ceilings, and doors that don’t open all the way are abnormal, regardless of house age – don’t motivate me to buy a potentially unsafe house. Is this wrong? Do I just have a wildly incorrect assumption of the role of realtors?

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/1demy1o/bad_realtor_or_do_i_have_too_high_of_expectations/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment