Newsflash: Additional SQFT question

Our home is a track home in a community with several others exactly like it. They are all 1960 sqft. A few years back I had the area under the stairs opened up for a walk-in storage that is 40 sqft. Now that we’re considering listing our home, my intention is to list it at 2000 sqft with the following disclaimer:​”Living square footage includes added under-stair storage as reported by seller. Buyer to verify all square-footage claims.”​On record we’re still 1960 but I always see claims that say the “source” of the information is the “seller” and I am hoping in this case I can legitimately say this without any repercussions.​My question is, as long as I very obviously state on the listing and on my disclosures that I’m claiming the storage as part of my sqft claims, is there any other measure I should take to ensure this doesn’t blow up in my face?​In case you’re wondering why I’m going to all this length for 40 more sqft, most buyers in my price range limit their search to 2000+ sqft in the mls.​Thanks

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/bj92dd/additional_sqft_question/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment