Newsflash: Buying an investment property in college?

Hi everyone. I’m a senior in high school right now and have what I think might be a very dumb question. Basically my grandmother left me around $135000 for college, but if I don’t use it (which it doesn’t look like I’m going to), it gets released to me. I talked with my parents, and they said that if I don’t need it and I can make it work, I can use it in my junior year to buy a rental property. My question is this – will I be able to get any type of financing at all? I know that there are a myriad of other issues – upkeep, utilities, vacancy, managing tenants, etc. but that’s not what I’m really wondering about right now. I’ve been thinking that I would look for something around 5/600,000 maybe around 8-10 units and put around 15-20% down, but is there any way that I can find a bank that will finance this? Assuming the building has been cash flow positive for a few years at least. I’ll have been building credit for 3 years at this point and will likely have a job but obviously not one that is super lucrative yet. Thanks for any info you guys might be able to supply me with.I’m in Upstate NY right now but will probably be going to college in either DC or NYC. (Obviously I know that I won’t be able to buy anything in either of these areas)

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/75eex8/buying_an_investment_property_in_college/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a Reply

