Newsflash: [NY State] I found an uncashed security deposit check from 2015, is there anything I can do about it?

Naturally I feel pretty silly, but I just came across a security deposit check from January 2015, for a place I moved out of in October 2014 that I apparently forgot to cash. I know checks can’t be cashed after 90/180ish days, but is there any legal sense in which the landlord still owes me that money, or is there some statute that says the money is forfeit after x amount of days?

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/75arhf/ny_state_i_found_an_uncashed_security_deposit/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a Reply

