Newsflash: Seller wants 5% “buyer’s premium” on conventional sale.

I’m considering putting an offer in on a house, but there’s a strange caveat that was presented when I viewed the house. The seller wants a 5% “buyer’s premium.” So, they want my offer + 5% and that’s what I pay (if they accept). This seems really odd and I can’t understand their motivation except that they want me to assume the Realtor fees.This is not an auction or short sale, which are the only situations i can find that seem to include this premium. My realtor is equally miffed and looking into it.Only thing I can say is that this is a very hot seller’s market. But still, shouldn’t the price of the home just go with the market? If I do make an offer, I’m offering 5% less account for this strange requirement.

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/6t0yvx/seller_wants_5_buyers_premium_on_conventional_sale/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a Reply

