Newsflash: Should I use proceeds from home sale to pay off student loans?

Situation: sell home for $300K, owe $180K, will have $30K home improvement loan. I expect to net about $60K. I have about $40-50K in student loans which I have been paying on (off and on) for 20 YEARS.My logic is thus: You cant “walk away” from student loans like you can a house if things go sideways financially. I am a vet so I did no money down.I could use the proceeds for down payment, but would rather get out from under the student loans.Advice? Thoughts?

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/6mydms/should_i_use_proceeds_from_home_sale_to_pay_off/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a Reply

