Newsflash: Home staging and upgrades questions

I’m looking for some advice about upgrading bathrooms right before listing a home for sale. We are already doing the common sense things – landscaping, cleaning, decluttering, moving extra things to storage. I’ve also painted the front door and added some flowers to the porch, touched up the interior paint (whole house is one neutral color), touched up the cabinetry in the kitchen and updated a few light fixtures. My dilemma is about two of our three bathrooms.The house is 4 bedrooms, 2.5 baths, 2100 sq. ft. We have a powder room on the first floor, right off the entry, and a master bath that are very “builder grade” – Hollywood light fixtures above the vanity, undesirable chrome faucets and fixtures, and oak cabinetry. This week I stained the cabinets a nice dark color and now I need to add hardware (no drawer pulls or handles existed before this most recent staining project). I’m stuck because I don’t really want to add cheap chrome hardware, but if I add something nicer (satin nickel throughout the rest of the house, including our updated kitchen and one other bathroom, fully updated with new lights, faucet, hardware and etc.), I’ll feel that the rest needs to be updated as well. At this point, with so many other projects going to get the house ready, is it worth it to look into changing out the faucets and lights? It’s not a huge investment, but I’m starting to worry that I’m taking on too many projects that ultimately won’t help to sell the house. From a realtor’s perspective, what is the best choice for these two bathrooms?

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/6m4djq/home_staging_and_upgrades_questions/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a Reply

