Newsflash: Bookkeeping, payroll, and L&I question (WA state) – should agent hours be reported by the brokerage to L&I?

I used to be a full charge bookkeeper for a bunch of different companies. I am now a bookkeeper for one real estate brokerage. For the past 9 years their somewhat incompetent old bookkeeper was reporting all 1099 real estate agent hours and “payroll” AKA commission checks to L&I when filing quarterly taxes. I am under the impression that only W2 employee wages and hours should be reported to payroll tax filings. should 1099 agent hours be reported as well?

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/6hppqv/bookkeeping_payroll_and_li_question_wa_state/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a Reply

