Newsflash: Process to Remove Someone from House Title

When I bought my current house, my dad and mom helped with a 10% down payment as an investment in the house, with the option that I pay them off within a certain time frame to remove them.Long story short, I’m going to pay them, and need to update the title (or deed?) and probably the mortgage on the house to remove their names as co-borrowers/co-owners.They’re obviously willing to sign whatever, but can someone tell me the basic process to do this? And a ballpark cost? Original purchase price on the house new 2 years ago was $423k in California.From my research, it looks like a loan “assumption” is possible, but more than likely, the only way to completely do it is to refinance, which I am definitely not going to do.

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/6hhdf7/process_to_remove_someone_from_house_title/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a Reply

