Newsflash: (DC) Should I Take All Profits from Sale of Old House and Invest in Better House?

I’m living in DC and purchased a brand new condo a year ago. This was my first home purchase. I bought early in the construction process and was able to get a very good price compared to what the other people in the condo community paid. The neighborhood is quickly changing for the better, so I expect property values to continue to increase.That being said, a neighbor in the condo just sold, and based on that selling price I’m comfortable estimating I could sell for $100k more than I paid a year ago. Assuming that is true, would it make sense to invest all of the profit in a new/better house (that is, purchase a home that’s $100k more than my current home)?I feel like that is the safest investment, but I’m new this and wanted to hear what insight all of you have. Thanks in advance for your help.

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/6gyy5p/dc_should_i_take_all_profits_from_sale_of_old/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a Reply

