Newsflash: Inherited a house with recently-discovered structural issues – what is the best way to get rid of it? [US-OR]

I am 25 and inherited an older house on the Oregon coast in 2015.I did not want this house because I assumed it would become a huge headache to deal with, and it has. I work and live about 2 hours away, so I did some cosmetic upgrades last year (new hardwood floors throughout, new paint, new lighting fixtures, etc) and rented it out this March for $950/mo. I was able to pay for most of the cosmetic fixes with cash and have paid off any credit I had to use.As soon as the new tenants moved in, they started complaining that a window was leaking a significant amount of water. I figured the seal was broken and it just needed to be caulked. No big deal. I hired a guy to do that work, and then over the course of the next month and 2 contractors later, determined that that entire southern-facing wall was eaten up with dry rot and needs to be replaced. That is a huge amount of work and my contractor has quoted me between $18,000-$30,000 to get it done properly. He does not yet know the full extent of the damage or what else he may find, but it is definitely a severe structural issue that needs to be fixed to make the house viable.I’m now in a place where I’m wondering if it is even worth it to fix the house, or to sell it “as-is” and take a sharp hit on the price. I’ve even considered selling to one of those “we buy all houses” companies. The most recent appraisal of the house in 2014 put the value around $105,000 when the dry rot issue was unknown. If it ended up costing $30,000+ to fix the dry rot, I feel like I would never get that money back. I also don’t think I’m even able to get a loan for that amount, which is causing me a lot of anxiety. I’ve never been in this kind of situation before.I own the house outright, so I have been told to pursue a home equity loan or HELOC, but my credit is not very old and not great. From what I’ve gathered from research, it is most likely not good enough to get a home equity loan, even if I own the house outright. There is also a large hole in the wall now where work was started haphazardly by my original contractor, and it’s now covered with a tarp. The first bank I spoke to wouldn’t even look at me for a home equity loan because of this.Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/6fgo74/inherited_a_house_with_recentlydiscovered/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a Reply

