Newsflash: purchasing with an my elderly mom

Hi, my elderly mom and I would like to purchase a property together joining our funds in the hopes to leave the property later to me. Is there a way to do this without incurring heavy taxes at the end? Does the 250K tax exemption help me in this sutuation. Say for example if I put 250K and she put 250K for a total of 500K? When she “leaves us” and we sell the property can her share be considered part of the 250K tax exemption for the property? Or is there a better method to join our funds and not get burnt by taxes later? Thank you all kindly.edit: Excuse the typo in the title.

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/6ehuf2/purchasing_with_an_my_elderly_mom/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a Reply

