Newsflash: First home purchase. Any advice appreciated.

I’m currently approved for a ‘no money down, 5% fixed interest rate over 30 years’ home loan through A military credit union. My goal is to find a modestly priced home (150ish) in a decent community to live in for a year prior to getting married, allowing me to add whatever value to it that I can over that period while living with friends to make payments very affordable. Once I get married, I’ll move elsewhere with my fiancé and keep the property to cash-flow. I’m pretty confident that I can maintain tenants through either my University network or else advertising to families in the area. Assuming I can find a house with no real defects, do you foresee any glaring red-flags? Or rather, what precautions would you advise one to take in order to make this a viable investment?

Read more at https://www.reddit.com/r/RealEstate/comments/6cqes5/first_home_purchase_any_advice_appreciated/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a Reply

